top of page
  • Writer's pictureRosee-T

Time travel

Updated: May 13, 2020



If only I could, I would have,

Turned back the time,

Cooked that favourite dish for my husband,

Bared and conveyed the unspoken words;

Taken the vacation of our dreams,

If only I could, I would have.


If only I could, I would have,

Spent more time with my girls,

Lived and relived their beautiful childhood,

Held their tiny hands again, teaching them

to join the dots of the letter ‘A’.

If only I could, I would have.


If only I could, I would have,

Turned back the time,

I would have seen my parents more often,

Relished every single lecture on the lessons of life,

Imparted by ma and pa.

If only I could, I would have.


If only I could, I would have,

Let the pats and cuddles flow free,

Not bothered about the muddy floors

But be thankful for the happy playful paws,

Filling joy in the cavities of our lives.

I only I could, I would have.


If only I could, I would have,

Turned back the time,

Paid more attention to myself,

Taken care of my body and nourished my soul;

Not have taken myself for granted.

If only I could, I would have.


If only I could, I would have,

Turned back the time,

Been more patient with one and all,

Been kinder and gentler,

Expressed a million times the love in my heart.

If only I could, I would have.


If only I could, I would have,

Hugged each and everyone,

Holding them close to let them know

With each breath of mine,

That I love them all, unabashedly.

If only I could, I would have.


If only I could, I would have,

Turned back the time,

Enjoyed the simple pleasures of life,

All the beautiful gifts of God,

Sight, smell, taste and touch.

I only I could… but…


I could and I did,

Perhaps not turn back time but

Savour the moments that defined me,

As souvenirs the memories in my heart,

Serving as a reminder that I could and I did

And I can and I will…




531 views16 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page