top of page
  • Writer's pictureRosee-T

Triumph tumbles

I was new to tea life and to the ways of the Planter’s life when I joined almost three decades ago. My seniors would tell me that the “euphoria” of tea is gradually wearing out; ‘the legacy of the Raj days is fading and yet we are clinging to the “dastoors” of the plantations of looking after the plantations and training the staff.’


I, fresh from college was given a sprawling “chhota bungalow” and along with it a team of bungalow staff. I was given the responsibility of training them as one of the entailments of the job. A new bearer had also joined the bungalow. Though the senior bungalow staff were to take care of most of his training, I had to intervene at times and was happy to be in a commanding position.


One fine day, I asked him for a glass of water and immediately he carried it out in his hands. Seeing this, I reprimanded him saying that “come what may- whenever I ask for anything, anything at all, you must carry it out on a tray.” He nodded his head in agreement and I felt a sense of fulfilment having done my duty.


The very next day, in a hurry to leave for my kaamjaari, I asked the bearer to get my motorbike keys. “Yes, saab” came the reply. As he went about searching for the keys, I added to my request to also bring a glass of water. I sat down to put on my shoes only to remember that they were out in the sun. Not knowing better, I added yet another order - to bring along my pair of shoes as well.


Soon, he came out bearing a serving tray in his hands and I thought to myself that he had learned quick. Alas, my triumph of training was not to last. On the beautiful rattan tray, with a lovely white embroidered cover rested a glass of water, motorbike keys and my pair of “kaamjaari shoes”.

226 views8 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page