top of page
  • Writer's pictureRosee-T

Welcome Thakurjee...

Updated: May 13, 2020

As is known in tea, with the onset of cold weather the tea factory needs overhauling, the roof painting and machinery serviced. As my husband was leaving for his kaamjaari in the afternoon he informed me that Mr. Thakur- the engine guy would be here by evening so he would be receiving Mr Thakur who would then complete the needful in the factory.

After the evening walk with my girls, I settled in instructing the maid about the supper and the preparation of the guest room for Mr. Thakur. I sat on the mat playing with the blocks along with my children while soft music played in the background. Just then the maid walked in to assist the kids with their supper. Leaving them in the ‘baby room’ I decided to go in for a bath. That’s when the bearer knocked and entered and announced that ‘Thakurjee’ is here. I directed him to serve Thakurjee with a cup of tea and biscuits and show him the spare room to freshen up.


The bearer stared at me in stunned silence. However, I was too occupied with the thoughts of the preparations to have noticed his reaction. “Saab should be here any moment” I murmured and rushed in for a wash. Afterwards, as I entered the ‘baby room’ again, I saw the maid rushing out with the girls. I asked her as to what the excitement was all about. “Ganeshjee is here with the bachchas” she said and urged me to follow her to the jaali kamra.


A little confused, I followed them out but could see no sign of Mr. Thakur or his luggage. In the jaali kamra, I realized that all the bungalow staff was huddled in unbelievable silence. On enquiring about Mr. Thakur, they pointed towards the direction of the lawn. As my eyes followed in the direction, I saw a herd of magnificent mammals- the elephants, aka, Thakurjee or Ganeshjee. There were about nine of them including three baby elephants. Some of them were using their long trunks to smell the banana trees in the corner of the lawn. Some were sniffing the bamboo hedge and uprooting it and like a magic trick, making it disappear into their apparently tiny mouths. The baby elephants looked adorable. Some of the bigger ones decided to make a football out of a flower pot and have a little game with their family and friends. It was a sight to behold. This may have continued for an hour or so until the matriarch, the largest one decided to leave. So they lined up, the baby elephants, holding the tail of the mother with their trunk.


Just like the Ganeshjee in our houses will be bid farewell soon for this year, we said goodbye to them all taking comfort in their unspoken promise to return soon.  

236 views16 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page